Triple P’s – Part 2!

Okay I can’t contain myself. I’m so excited to share the easiest and most delicious paleo cookie recipe I have tried to date!

Last night I had a hankering for something sweet and of course, I wanted that something to be chocolate. I have problems with chocolate – it’s the only thing I ever really “crave,” but I accept that part of my life and enjoy it. Anyway, I simply googled “paleo cookies” and up popped this recipe. Holy smokes. Easy. I had all the ingredients in my fridge/pantry already. No stand mixer or food processor required? Boom. Done. I encourage you to try this recipe because it took literally 15 minutes from start to finish and only makes 10 small cookies, so you won’t have cookies laying around tempting you for a week! Hooray!

Paleo Cookies!

Here’s the recipe again (from runningtothekitchen.com):

Prep time
5 mins
Cook time
11 mins
Dairy, gluten and grain free chocolate chunk cookies that taste just like the real deal.
Author: Gina Matsoukas
Recipe type: cookies
Serves: 10 cookies
Ingredients
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • ⅛ teaspoon salt
  • ⅛ teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon almond milk
  • ¼ cup chopped dark chocolate pieces (I used Ghirardelli Sea Salt Soiree-highly recommended)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl.
  3. Whisk together wet ingredients in a small bowl.
  4. Add wet to dry and mix together.
  5. Fill a tablespoon measure with batter and press down to form a half-circle. Tap batter out onto baking sheet and lightly press down in the center.
  6. Bake for 10-11 minutes until bottoms just start to turn brown.
  7. Remove from oven and let cool 2-3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. They will be soft when removed from oven but firm up in a couple of minutes.

The only changes I made were subbing coconut milk for the almond milk (it’s what I had on hand – it was cold outside and I wasn’t going to the store for a tablespoon of almond milk!) and I used crushed up Heath bars instead of chocolate chips. Yes I know Heath bars really aren’t paleo, not even a little bit. As I said, it was cold outside and I wasn’t going to the store for a bag of Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips, plus the hubster loves Heath bars and I thought he’d at least try these cookies if they had Heath bars in them. My husband is like a 5-year-old when it comes to trying “new” (paleo) things. Make the modifications you see fit – I think the cookie base would be excellent with all kinds of mix-ins. Freedom feels good, doesn’t it?

Now, to follow up on my 3P experimentation. This time I used some casein protein and a little baking powder. The verdict? Awesome. They were much lighter and less protein-powdery than before. I also think the casein might take the edge off the ultra-sweetness of the whey. Just a guess. I also threw in some chopped pecans because I had the tiniest little amount left in a bulk-aisle bag (I have no idea what I made that I decided to save like 3 tablespoons of chopped nuts?) so those bad boys had to go somewhere. For the record, I’ve always known pecans as “pee-CAHNS” and not “PEE-cans” just so you get the full experience of pancake-making with yours truly. Here’s the final recipe:

Paleo Sweet Potato Protein Pancakes

  1. 1/3 C sweet potato (cooked and mashed)
  2. 1 egg plus 1 egg white (beaten)
  3. 1 T raw honey
  4. splash coconut milk
  5. 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  6. cinnamon to taste
  7. 1/2 scoop vanilla whey (24 g scoop)
  8. 1/2 scoop vanilla casein (36 g scoop)
  9. 1/8 tsp baking powder
  10. few tablespoons chopped nuts (optional. any kind will do)

Instructions: Mix first 6 ingredients together in a small bowl (or even better, in a 2-cup pyrex measuring cup w/ a pour spout). Mix remaining ingredients together and add into wet ingredients. Mix until just combined. Heat virgin coconut oil in large skillet over med/med-high heat. Pour batter into skillet forming 3 4-inch diameter pancakes. Flip when bubbles start to form on the top.

Tip: I always bring my eggs to room temperature before use – even when I make scrambled eggs. If you think I have the patience to let them sit on the counter until they warm up, you’s cray-cray. Instead, I put the whole egg in a little bowl with very hot tap water (about as hot as you can get it). It only takes a couple minutes for the eggs to warm up! This will not hard-boil the eggs because, well, the last time I checked, boiling water doesn’t come out of your standard tap. I got this little tip from an episode of Good Eats (I <3 you, Alton Brown) – it really makes your eggs fluffier and is an absolute must for baking with eggs.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

