Paleo Truffles

Glad I got through the weekend! I had an important motion due yesterday, so I spent my Saturday and Sunday at my desk surrounded by stacks of paper feverishly writing, rewriting, and writing s’more. I was able to get it filed by 2 pm yesterday which allowed me to leave work early and get to the gym before heading home to make these bad boys:

Image

Paleo truffles! I made them to give as gifts – ’tis the season and all. The interwebs are full of paleo truffle recipes, but ¬†Nom Nom Paleo’s recipe¬†looked the easiest. I went with it (with slight modifications) and they turned out great! Here’s what I used:

Truffle 1: Andes Mint Truffle (cocoa dusted in photo)

  • 1 3.5 oz Green & Black’s Mint Dark Chocolate Bar
  • 1/2 3.5 oz Green & Black’s 70% Dark Chocolate Bar
  • 1.5 T virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C full-fat coconut milk
  • Cocoa powder for dusting.

Instructions:

  1. Chop up your chocolate into small pieces. (I wish there was a way to do this that didn’t get chocolate shavings all over mi casa. I tried a “trick” from pinterest where you whack the wrapped chocolate bar on the kitchen counter several times. You’re supposed to then unwrap a perfectly broken up chocolate bar. Yeah…not so much.)
  2. Put chocolate in a bowl with your coconut oil.
  3. Heat up your coconut milk (Cool or room temperature coconut milk is sometimes hard to measure because it separates, so I dumped one can of coconut milk into a saucepan and heated over medium heat, stirring frequently. Then I dumped a half cup of the heated milk into a pyrex measuring cup. Voila! I also feel like this could be done in a microwave and make everyone’s life a lot easier.)
  4. Slowly pour the heated milk over your chocolate/oil mixture and stir gently until the chocolate melts. Add your vanilla when you’re just about done mixing. Pop the bowl of chocolate into the freezer to set up.
  5. I recommend using a wide, shallow bowl for your chocolate because it cools more quickly (science people!). Your coconut milk does not need to very warm to melt the chocolate and oil.
  6. I let my chocolate mixture cool for about 1.5 hours. Nom Nom Paleo’s website says it takes 4 hours in the fridge – as I’ve mentioned before, I’m an impatient little lady, so I went the freezer route without any problems.
  7. When your chocolate is set up (should be firm but not rock hard), set up a truffle-rolling station: I used a sheet pan lined with parchment for my truffles and a dish with some cocoa powder in which to roll my truffles.
  8. Scoop out a tiny bit (about a 1/2 T) of chocolate and shape into balls. I used my fingers to roughly shape the ball then rolled it between my palms to make it pretty. The heat of your palms will melt the outside of the truffle so the cocoa powder will adhere.
  9. Roll your truffle in the cocoa powder, tap off the excess, and place on your tray.
  10. This made 15 truffles.

Truffle 2 – Italian Cafe Truffles (I just made that up – sounds fancy eh?)

  • 1 3.5 oz Green & Black’s Espresso Dark Chocolate Bar
  • 1/2 3.5 oz Green & Black’s 70% Dark Chocolate Bar (the other half from the one above. Duh.)
  • 1/2 C chopped roasted, unsalted pistachios.
  • Rest of the ingredients are the same.

Instructions:

  • Same as above.
  • Make sure you chop your nuts very finely or else they won’t stick. You might need to use a little bit more pressure when you roll your truffles to make sure the nuts adhere.

These need to be stored in the fridge, not on the counter. If you want to keep these in the freezer, Nom Nom Paleo recommends that you make the balls but don’t roll them in anything until you’re ready to serve. Then bring them to room temperature for 30 minutes before rolling between palms/coating.

I really liked the pistachio-covered truffles – I think any chopped nut would be tasty. I also liked using the chocolate bars that were already flavored because it saved me a step. With all the awesome flavors available these days, the possibilities are really endless. I’d like to try making these with a hard shell, but the only recipe I could find yesterday called for cocoa butter and I didn’t think they would have that at my local whole foods. I’ll keep looking and keep you posted!

3 responses to “Paleo Truffles

  1. I just made a double batch of the mint truffles for a paleo cookie swap this weekend…amazing! Pretty sure someone is going to find me passed out in a corner covered with cocoa powder in a sugar coma because I can’t stop eating them.

  2. Pingback: I Love The Fishes Cuz They’re So Delicious… « The Primal Smoke·

Leave a Reply

