Rest Day

Yesterday I started my third week of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer. I came across this FREE program a while back, but was working with a trainer at the time and not ready to switch gears. When patellar tendonitis put a damper on my half marathon training (and my CrossFit) I decided to give the program a try. Also, there is no cardio during the first four weeks of the program, allowing me to rest my knees.

The program is divided into three 4-week phases, the first of which is basically an introduction to weightlifting. Weeks one and two are identical with 4 days of simple exercises (3 sets of 12 reps each) followed by three rest days. Yes, I said three. The logic behind the 4/3 split is to ease into training and allow for maximum muscle gain (also the reason for the lack of cardio).  Since I’ve been doing CrossFit for the last 4-5 months, I sort of reworked the first two weeks of the program to fit into 8 days: 3 days of training/rest day/4 days of training. The thought of only doing 30 minutes of weight training 4 days a week seemed impossible for me and I didn’t feel overworked or unreasonably sore doing a “condensed” program.

Weeks 3 and 4 increase the training split to 5 days on/2 days off and a more normal routine for me. The program is written such that you would train Monday through Friday with the weekends off, but since I personally have more time on the weekend than I do during the week, I’m changing that up too. Also, next week is Thanksgiving and I’ll be traveling to see family so I wanted to schedule my workouts around my travel so I wouldn’t be tempted to skip a workout. Here’s what my week looks like:

I must confess that I’ve also been doing a teeny bit of cardio. I just got paranoid that I’d gain 5 pounds if I went a whole month without gettin’ sweaty. I just did three days of a quick 15ish-minute HIIT routine on the spin bike after I finished with the weights – just enough to get my heart rate up and the endorphins flowing. I love the spin bike and I plan to continue doing this in weeks 3 and 4. Oh and here’s the Beginner HIIT routine (adapted from bodybuilding.com):

  • 1 minute warm up
  • 15 second max resistance and effort
  • 1 minute rest
  • Repeat 11 more times, ending on a final 15-second sprint.
Leave a Reply

