Training Legs

Yesterday was leg day #2 of the week. Here’s what my program looked like:

3 sets of 10 reps:

  • Leg extensions
  • Hamstring curls
  • Back squats
  • Walking barbell lunges
  • Single leg barbell deadlift
  • Standing calf raises

Per Jamie Eason’s instructions, I was to take a minute rest in between each set. Well, I didn’t do that. I super-setted it a bit for the sake of time and to get my heart rate up. So first I did the extensions and curls back to back (50 lbs each), immediately went into the single leg deadlifts (2×20 lb db’s instead – no barbells at this gym); walking lunges w/ 2×20 lb DB’s super-set with calf raises, then air squats while balancing on the flat side of the bosu ball. I followed that up with 3 sets of 10 toes to bar and “150 abs” – adapted from the “300 abs” workout I found on Pinterest. No cardio yesterday.

But here’s the thing…I’m not sore at all today. The workout felt sufficiently tough while I was doing it, but maybe it wasn’t? It’s kinda weird coming from doing CrossFit and my legs feeling like they are dying every day of the week to this. I mean I’m not really complaining but I’m wondering if I’m training hard enough or whether I was overtraining before. I’m also getting more protein now, so maybe that’s part of it too? I don’t know. I am trying to take it easy on my lower body due to this persistent patellar tendonitis I have. It’s so lame. Hence my doing air squats instead of weighted squats.

My physical therapist pointed out that I have a pretty significant imbalance between my quads (huge) and hamstrings (weak), and this is likely contributing to tendonitis. I really want to work more on my hamstrings so I can bring my body into a little more balance, but it’s really hard to find good hamstring exercises! I’m planning to do more research to modify the LiveFit program a little bit for my specific needs.

As far as the program goes, It’s only been 2 weeks (in time) of following the workouts and I can already see a difference in my upper body. My body naturally puts on muscle pretty quickly, so I’m debating whether to skip Phase 2, which is just more muscle building. I think that between the CrossFit and my body type, I had some decent muscle going into the program so I don’t know how much more I need or want to build. I figure that if I finish phase 3 and I don’t like the results, I can always just pop back into phase 2 and start from there again. Am I just really impatient? Could it be that my upcoming Christmas beach vacation has me wanting to start burning fat? Probably both.

Happy that it’s Friday! Woot!

Leave a Reply

