Happy Belated Thanksgiving!

I’m finally back from our Thanksgiving travels – what a crazy week! I apologize for not posting. Glad to be home and getting back on track!

Today is Sunday, and that means it’s food prep day. I work full time, usually leaving the house around 7 am and arriving home around 6:30. Most days I try to get my workouts in before I hit the office, so that means I will leave my house at 6 am. Needless to say, I don’t have the time or energy to prepare meals during the week! I usually try to prepare two different proteins – one red meat dish (usually ground bison or steaks) and one poultry or fish dish – a hot veggie dish like a paleo “stuffing” or roasted veggies, and either a salad or raw veggies. Why this combinaton? Well, I’ll tell you!

Proteins: Like most women, I’ve been borderline anemic since my teenage years and in my pre-paleo, red meat-fearing days, it was hard for me to get enough daily iron. Supplements worked OK, but they’re pretty hard on the stomach and have to be taken with food, so it just wasn’t convenient for me. When I finally started listening to my body, I noticed that I would sometimes crave red meat, very likely indicating low iron. Our bodies are pretty darn smart! I have more energy when I make sure I’m eating red meat on a regular basis. All that said, red meat can be more difficult to digest so I try to limit it to one meal per day. For my other meal, I’ll have chicken, turkey meatloaf, fish, or occasionally pork.

Roasted Veggies: I love vegetables and especially love them roasted. The slow cooking process really allows the sugars to develop and makes what might otherwise be a rather boring side dish to a whole new level. I used to steam all of my veggies – no wonder I couldn’t get excited about them! Don’t get me wrong, steamed veggies have their place, but roasting is truly the way to go and requires, like, zero work. I just set my oven to 400, line a baking sheet with aluminum foil (for easy clean up), and throw my lightly fat-coated and seasoned veggies in for 15-40 minutes depending on size and/or the type of vegetable. My latest go-to dish is roasted broccoli: toss broccoli florets in a little melted extra virgin coconut oil, kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, and either minced garlic or garlic powder (I actually think the powder works better here). Roast for 17 minutes at 400 degrees, or until broccoli is just getting some browned edges. When it’s done roasting, sprinkle a little lemon juice over the broccoli and toss one more time before serving. Sounds simple but it’s truly the bomb.com. 🙂

Salad/Raw Veggies: There’s something about groups of 3 and I like having 3 different “things” on my plate. Sometimes it’s just a matter of serving my other hot dishes on a bed of raw baby spinach – the spinach wilts and ties the whole dish together. Other times I’ll make the world’s most delicious kale salad. This recipe is so easy and beautiful that you will wonder why you didn’t think of it first! I also have raw veggies on hand for snacking, especially baby carrots, bell peppers, and cucumbers just because I like ’em.

On today’s menu, I’ll be making a rump roast in my brand new Delonghi Slow Cooker (*squeal!*), root vegetable mashed faux-tatoes, and some roasted brussels sprouts. I’m also snapping up some frozen fish filets, but I just make those when I’m ready to eat them because they can be cooked directly from frozen, take only a few minutes, and fish is not a prepare-ahead kind of thing. Yuck. 🙂

Pics and recipes to come!

 

 

Leave a Reply

