Slow Cooker Rump Roast

Tonight I test drove my new slow cooker by trying a recipe from one of my favorite paleo blogs, PaleOMG.com. The young lady behind this site whips up some mean paleo desserts (I’ve made probably 10 of them), but she also has several main dishes I’ve been wanting to try and tonight was the night! This is a simple roast recipe with onions and mushrooms as the accompanying veggies. I used a 2-pound roast and opted for the low and slow 8-hour cook time. While the meat itself turned out very tender, I thought it a bit dry, so next time I think I’ll either cut the cooking time by an hour or try it on high for 4-5 hours. Gotta love experimentation!
20121125-212212.jpg

Action shot of my RR getting its delicious on!

I also made Nom Nom Paleo‘s root vegetable mashed faux-tatoes. Not only is this recipe easy and inexpensive to make, it is super tasty too! I think it’s my favorite dish I made today. It’s made with parsnips, carrots, and cauliflower puréed with garlic and leeks. Omg I love leeks – they add more than just an onion flavor. It’s like a depth or richness that no onion can duplicate. Have a favorite soup, stew or chili? Check the recipe, because I bet one of its base ingredients is leeks. It’s true! I got this recipe from NNP’s iPad App, which is full of helpful cooking tips and techniques, not to mention gorgeous food photos. This woman is a paleo ninja!

Root Veggie Mashed Faux-Tatoes (by: Nom Nom Paleo)

  • 4-5 medium parsnips (approx. 3/4 lb), peeled and cut into 1″ pieces
  • 2 carrots (approx. 2/3 lb), peeled and cut into 3/4″ pieces
  • 2 leeks, white parts only, sliced
  • 1 small cauliflower (approx 1 lb.), cut into florets
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1/2 C low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 C water
  • 3 T ghee*
  1. Chop your veggies. Don’t make them pretty because they are going to be pureed. The carrots take a little longer to cook than the parsnips so make your carrot pieces a little bit smaller!
  2. Melt 3 T ghee in a big ol’ dutch oven. I used my cherry red Le Creuset Marseille Deep Covered Saute Pan because I was feeling feisty. I should have used my bigger dutch oven though. Live and learn.
  3. Toss in your veggies, including the leeks and garlic. Hope you didn’t waste time chopping up that garlic – the whole cloves are fine!
  4. Give the mix a stir, then add your broth and water. I used about a cup of broth and probably 3/4 C water because I had more veggies (did you know that 3 little carrots weigh a pound? Whoops!).
  5. Cover and simmer for 25-30 minutes or until veggies are very tender.
  6. Use an immersion blender or food processor to puree. I used a food processor – I simply scooped the veggies out of the pot with a slotted spoon, added a little of the broth, some S&P, a splash of coconut milk and blended that baby. I did this in two batches.
  7. Eat and enjoy!

*Confession: I never measure my fat for cooking. That’s probably bad. I just eyeball it. So the recipe said to use 3 T, so to me that meant “a little bit more than usual” so I put a couple table spoons’ worth in (note: table*space*spoon, meaning a spoon you use at the table, not an actual Tablespoon measurement). Why don’t I measure my fat? I’m lazy and it’s never had any negative impact on my dishes. Err on the conservative side and you can always add a little more fat/oil if you need it!

Here’s a Pyrex filled with the glorious goodness:

20121125-213803.jpg

Finally, I made some simple roasted Brussels sprouts: I just tossed my sprouts with a little coconut and olive oil, minced sweet onion, garlic powder and S&P. Then I spread them in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet and popped them into a 400 degree oven. 18 minutes later, I removed the pan, gave the sprouts a stir, and put them back in for 10 minutes. I repeated the remove and stir one more time before a final 3-5 minutes in the oven (depending on how brown you like them). Here they are, fresh out the oven:

20121125-214527.jpg

The final product!

20121125-214646.jpg

Leave a Reply

