Busy Week!

This week has been crazy for me with work and some social obligations. I’m sad to say that as a result, I’ve fallen off the LiveFit trainer wagon. 

I skipped phase 1 and jumped right in to phase 3 and the phase 3 workouts are A LOT more time consuming (generally 1.5 hours when you include the cardio). I’ve made some modifications to the workouts so I could break them up and do them in my office with resistance bands. I also signed up for bodeefit. Have you heard of it? It’s a free program put out by CrossFit DeCo (creators of the awesome iphone app, WODGenius). Everyday, they send you an email with a bodyweight-only CF workout. Each takes about 15 minutes to complete. The workouts are pretty fun and a great addition to my routine because I can do them whenever I find a few extra minutes during the day. Don’t be fooled – some of these workouts are tough! Here’s an example of the “Tabata Thursday” workout:

Work for 20 seconds, rest for 10 seconds for 4 total minutes of each of the following exercises:

  • 1/2 push up (hold push up halfway down for 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds)
  • Jump squats
  • Burpees

Sounds simple but 10 seconds is NOT a long time to rest when it comes to jump squats! I was a sweaty mess by the time this was over. 

I also signed up for the Canyonlands Half Marathon on March 16. I’m so excited! It’s been 3 years since my last half marathon and this is a race I’ve always wanted to do because it’s in gorgeous Moab, UT. I was able to do my CrossFit Endurance run yesterday without any pain, so I’m planning to spend the next 3 weeks getting ready to start my race training (light running and a lot of stretching).

I’m still not sure which training program I should use. In the past I went with Hal Higdon’s “traditional” training program, which is basically a gradual increase in mileage over 12 weeks, with at least 4 days of running each week. I’m intrigued by CFE’s 12-week program because it only involves 3 days a week of running and a lot of intervals – long runs can get a little tedious for me. 

Anyone have any suggestions for good 1/2 marathon training programs? I’m all ears 🙂

Leave a Reply

