First Day Back

Vacations are great, but it’s so nice to be home! I went to bed super early last night and was rewarded with 10 glorious hours of uninterrupted slumber. I hit the grocery store first thing this morning to start getting ready for the week ahead.

When I got home, I set out to make a veggie-ful breakfast in preparation for my upcoming W30. Inspired by one of my favorite dishes, huevos rancheros, this one is loaded with greenery and protein and sure to become a staple during the next month!

Whole 30 Huevos Verduras

  • 1/2 small sweet onion, diced
  • 1 cup diced veggies (I used bell peppers, broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower)
  • 1/2 to 1 spicy pork or chicken sausage (I used Aidells Spicy Mango with Jalepeno Chicken Sausage)
  • Ground oregano, garlic powder, fresh or dried cilantro, salt & pepper – to taste
  • 1 big handful baby spinach
  • 2 eggs
  1. Heat some fat in a large skillet over medium-low heat. This morning I used bacon fat. YUM.
  2. Add your onion and saute, cooking until softened slightly.
  3. Add your veggies (except the spinach). Stir to coat evenly with fat and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Add your seasonings to taste – I listed the ones I used, but any of your favorite southwestern spices would be fine. If you’re using fresh cilantro or other spices, do not add it until the very end.
  4. Toss spinach into the pan and cook until wilted. Add any remaining fresh spices and cook for a couple minutes to combine. Remove from heat and pile onto your plate.
  5. In the same pan you used to make the veggies, cook your two eggs however you like. I made basic fried eggs – super runny style. Again, YUM.
  6. Top your veggie-sausage mixture with the two eggs and enjoy!

Image

Image

One response to “First Day Back

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Day 3! | thebarbellbarrister·

Leave a Reply

