Whole 30 Day 1

Happy New Year!

Yesterday was filled with football, quality time with my fuzzy kids, and Day 1 of my Whole30 challenge. I wanted to do another W30 to “reset” and clean up my diet. I have quite a sweet tooth and over time little “treats” have a way of creeping back into my life. I’m hoping to address my sugar cravings over the next 30 days and to detox a bit from some of my holiday off-roading.

To keep myself accountable, I’m planning to keep track of what I eat here. I usually tire of this kind of recordkeeping so we’ll see how long this lasts! Here’s what I had yesterday:

I went out to breakfast with the hubs and ordered an omelette w/ peppers, spinach and roasted tomatoes; a side of fruit and black coffee. I need to buy some roasted tomatoes and/or peppers – so delicious in an omelette!

I went to Xtend Barre at noon and sweated my brains out. I’m still a little under the weather from my Christmas bronchitis/cold and the fact that we’re having a nasty inversion here in Salt Lake isn’t helping. I’m still not back to 100% but I’m glad I went to class – it felt great to stretch! After class I grabbed a Kombucha and some raw mixed nuts from Whole Foods. I promptly returned home to use my lululemon gift card to order these crops and this tank! Squee!

I definitely should have had more to eat for lunch – I was famished by the time dinner rolled around and found myself grabbing for more nuts to snack on. Better planning is in order!

We had dinner at home last night. And the night before (new year’s eve). The hubs and I had plans for a romantic dinner up in Alta, Utah but he was hit by boulder skiing earlier that afternoon. You heard me right – hit by a boulder. Luckily it hit him in the thigh area and ricocheted off of his knee brace (destroying the brace) and not somewhere else. We spent NYE in the ER making sure there were no breaks or fractures and miraculously, he only sustained a pretty nasty bone bruise. He’s still in quite a bit of pain so we had to cancel our dinner reservations and got In n’ Out Burger Instead (just for the record, I get a double hamburger protein style [i.e. no bun], no spread. It’s delish!).

Needless to say, the hubs was still in a lot of pain yesterday and despite making it out to breakfast, he had to stay home and rest for the rest of the day. I made a modified version of PaleOMG’s BBQ Turkey Meatloaf. Instead of regular onions, I made caramelized onions and added those to the mix. OMG caramelized onions! Also, I was out of Steve’s Peach BBQ Sauce (which I have ordered in the past and really like) so I used a pureed tomato mixed with a little worchestershire, bragg aminos, garlic powder, onion powder and pepper in the actual meatloaf and topped it with some homemade BBQ sauce. It was sweet and yummy. I had that with a side of sauteed spinach. A spoonful of homemade coconut butter for dessert then I hit the sheets at 9:30. Not a bad day!

More to come…

Leave a Reply

