Whole30 Day 3!

What I ate:

Breakfast: Heuvos Verduras and black coffee.

Morning snack: handful of almonds, macadamias, and unsweetened dried cranberries.

Lunch: the last of the roasted acorn squash soup; leftover turkey meatloaf

Dinner: steak salad with peppers, pico de gallo, & guacamole; a few raw almonds for dessert.

What I Did:

At lunchtime, I popped down to my office building’s gym for my first running workout. Good news – no knee pain AND I got to watch America’s Next Top Model. That show is ridiculous but I absolutely love it!

After dinner, I made Sun Dried Tomato and Broccoli Soup from Civilized Caveman. If you haven’t checked out this site, you need to get your butt over there ASAP! I love that the recipes are simple and that the focus is on comfort-type foods. The only change I made to this recipe was adding some sweet paprika, celery seed, and balsamic vinegar at the end in addition to salt and pepper. I just felt like the soup needed something and I think the balsamic was an especially tasty addition!

As you can see from the photos, I went a little heavy on the sun dried tomatoes but can you blame me? SDT’s are up there with caramelized onions on the deliciousness list.

20130103-201105.jpg

20130103-201144.jpg

I just love soup for lunch. It not only fills you up, it also warms you up which is critical in a frigid office. I really wish my building would just crank the heat a few degrees particularly when it’s 15 degrees outside like it was here today. Then I wouldn’t have to use the space heater, which in turn would keep me from getting bloody noses! Gross! (This happened today – I was not a happy camper.)

Well I’m going to get ready for bed – Xtend Barre bright and early tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

