Whole30 Day 7 & 8 and Three Things I’m Raving About

See, I told you I would tire of tracking my daily food. Some days I just don’t have time to post and once the day is over I’ve completely forgotten what I ate. Bummer. I will say that yesterday (my day 8), the chocolate monster was out in full force! I imagine him looking like this:

Image

 

Hmm…that’s a pretty cute chocolate monster. Anyway, I’m proud to say that I have resisted, despite all the little candy bowls in every corner of my office! Hooray! 

Now I want to share three things I’m really excited about because maybe you’ll be excited about them too, and we can all be excited together. Whee!!!

1. Kiehl’s Formula 133 Conditioner.

Image

One of the benefits of staying at a friend’s home on vacation is getting to sample their toiletries, hair products, and/or makeup. Admit it, we all do it. On our recent vacation, our friends had this conditioner and I was so wowed that I ordered some immediately upon our return. It’s a very thin, lightweight conditioner that somehow magically makes your hair silky smooth without weighing it down. I never had a problem with dry or splitting ends until I moved to Utah (it’s the high desert, people) and the winter cold only makes it worse so I’m so happy I found this product! Yes, this is totally off topic for this blog but if you’ve ever struggled to find a good shampoo/conditioner combo, you understand the eureka moment I’m having right now 🙂

2. Nespresso Citiz Espresso Machine.

On a recent work trip to Denver I was lucky enough to stay at the Ritz-Carlton. Instead of the usual coffee maker, they had one of these machines in every room and I knew that I had to have one. That dream has now become a reality and I’m so pumped. The espresso actually tastes like espresso…such a step of from the watery Keurig coffee I was having before!

3. Maple Glazed Pork Loin.

Stop the presses – breaking news: my husband made dinner last night! He may have had a little help from a certain someone but who’s counting? We made this delicious roasted pork loin with sweet potatoes and apples: 

Image

 

Sorry for the gladware picture – we were in such a hurry to scarf this down that I didn’t have a good photo op. I can’t tell you how easy and delicious this was – the potoes were all carmelized and gooey and the pork was very tender and juicy. A must try!

Maple Glazed Pork Loin with Sweet Potatoes and Apples

(adapted from self.com)

  • 2 lb pork tenderloin (doesn’t have to be exact)
  • 3 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1″ chunks (about 2-3 cups)
  • 1 or 2 apples, cut into wedges (I left the skin on)
  • Fresh or dried thyme
  • Olive oil, kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper

For the glaze:

  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar 
  • 1 tsp dijon, whole grain, or stone ground mustard. 

The night before:

  1. I tied two 1-lb pork tenderloins together with kitchen twine (two thin pieces of meat came in one bag, that’s why I did it like this). Coat the meat with olive oil, thyme, salt, and pepper; wrap tightly with plastic wrap; refrigerate. I used about a scant tablespoon of dried thyme. 
  2. Make your glaze by combining the three glaze ingredients in a small container or mason jar with a lid. Shake to combine and throw in the fridge. 
  3. Peel and dice your sweet potatoes and place in a bowl of water (water should cover potatoes). You may want to rinse the potatoes a few times to get the starch off, then cover with water and throw in the fridge. 

The day of:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees with a rack in the top third and a rack in the bottom third of your oven. 
  2. Place pork on a large baking sheet or roasting pan and roast on the top rack for 10-15 minutes. 
  3. While pork is cooking, drain and dry your potatoes and cut up your apple. Toss with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme if you want. We skipped the seasoning on the potatoes because they are so good on their own!
  4. Remove pork from oven and pour half the glaze over the roast. Place potatoes and apples around the pork.
  5. Roast on the bottom rack of the oven for 15 minutes. Remove pan from oven, stir potatoes and apples and put back in the oven for another 15 minutes.
  6. Check your pork temp with a meat thermometer. We are looking for 145 degrees at the thickest part.
  7. If the potatoes and apples are done, you can remove them from the pan at this point and continue roasting pork until you reach 145 degrees. Or you can be like us and just throw the whole thing back in the oven for another 10 minutes. 
  8. When the pork is done, remove it from the pan and cover with foil. Allow roast to rest for 10 minutes, then slice and serve!

Yum-o!

Leave a Reply

